Jeff Greene's Daily Photo

By JeffGreene

Eye of the Needle

I made a few improvements to my 34" DIY macro tube and tested it by photographing the eye of a sewing needle from my wife's sewing kit.

A lot of fun to explore everyday items this close-up, but very difficult to capture a sharp image. After reviewing the images on my monitor, I realized that the depth-of-field was narrower than the width of the needle.

I used all the techniques required to get the sharpest image possible, including shooting in Silent Mode in Live View on the Canon EOS 7D. Still soft. It was then I realized that my son and I had to remain perfectly still before and during the exposure to elimnate any floor vibration. At this magnification, it's THAT sensitive...

Update: I had completely forgotten that today was my 365th Blip. Thanks for all your comments and support...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.