MMXI

New year--new approach. I started taking a photo a day in August 2008. I managed to post 500 images consecutively before taking a 3-day break at the very end of 2009. I started up again Jan 1, 2010 and I had the goal to post a photo a day, every day, for 365 days. I managed to take a photo every day (still haven't caught up with the actual posting of them), but the past two months have been a struggle. There was no joy in it many days -- just this sense of obligation to take a picture of any-old-crap. Which is often what I did.

I still love the idea of a photo-a-day as a journal, and that's what I've come to value the most from this project -- a record, in pictures, of what's happened in my life. I've decided to keep up the best I can but to also feel OK with not posting/taking a shot every single day. This year, I want to enjoy photography again -- not feel like it's an obligation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.