With mountains like these

By Sollergirl

Michael

Thanks to Geoff for alerting me to the concert this evening. A treat for me, after getting my planning done.

Suzanne Bradbury (piano) and Fiona Stuart-Wilson (Soprano), with Mozart, Fauré, Hindemith, Ovalle, Guastavino, Granados, Britten/Auden, including the fabulously funny Oh tell me the truth about love

and Michael Watt's songs of Gerard Manley Hopkins. Spring and Fall, and this

Pied Beauty

Glory be to God for dappled things --
For skies of couple-colour as a brinded cow;
For rose-moles all in stipple upon trout that swim;
Fresh-firecoal chestnut-falls; finches' wings;
Landscape plotted & pieced -- fold, fallow, & plough;
And all trades, their gear & tackle & trim.
All things counter, original, spare, strange;
Whatever is fickle, freckled, (who knows how?)
With swift, slow; sweet, sour; adazzle, dim;
He fathers-forth whose beauty is past change:
Praise him

It was a wonderful varied concert, five minutes if that from my door, and I can't quite believe I haven't heard Fiona's voice in concert before (though I have heard it drifting down the road on a summer breeze.) How lucky this town is to have such talent on our doorstep.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.