Scintilla

By scintilla

Man Flu Hell

Last night was my most fitful night of non-sleep in recollection. I was a proverbial snot factory. When I did fall asleep, I would have nightmares that I was drowning. I'm certain I was apneic. I was sore, wheezy, snotty, and I had a headache all day. When I was tired of napping, I'd watch football or read. This is the memoir of Bob Novak who's a famous political columnist in the US. His fairly illustrious career was eclipsed somewhat by his involvement in the Valerie Plame incident. He wrote an article "outing" Valerie Plame as a CIA agent who arranged for her husband to do a field visit to Niger and assess whether Iraq was trying to obtain yellow cake uranium. There were many who thought (and still do) George Bush and or Carl Rove leaked her CIA status to punish her and her husband for he husband's op ed against George Bush. The administration's enemies and the media went nuts smelling blood in the water prompting a special investigation as to who "leaked" the information to Robert Novak. It turns out Carl Rove was not the source and Richard Armitage who was the Deputy Director of the CIA was and he had no particular axe to grind. Anyway, the book is interesting because Robert Novak's journalism career dates back to the Eisenhower administration. Thanks to my aunt for sending me the book.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.