Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Caught in the act

It was harder than I expected to find anywhere to eat this evening. I'd dropped in to the Dylan hotel for a quick drink, and went on to Stephen's Green, intending to have a bite to eat somewhere around Baggot Street. Most places were closed, presumably waiting for New Year's Eve to re-open and charge exorbitant prices for a bit of special-occasion nosh. I had to opt for a little bistro place I'd never been to before. It was adequate -- let's say I wouldn't rush back there again. I did get a kick out of people-watching while there, though, making up life stories for the couples and groups who were at other tables. This pair were especially intriguing, with the guy much more interested in his food than in his companion. I tried to sneak a sly shot by pretending to review stuff already on the camera, but the guy did rather catch me in the act. Fortunately, the only way he registered his displeasure was by glaring at me, but I guess I'll need to be more careful in future just in case the consequences are more serious.

I called in to spend some time with Susan, my recently bereaved next-door neighbour, when I got home. Her son was there too, over from England for the holiday break. We spent a pleasant few hours together, reminiscing about Robin and the good old times, and drinking to his memory in grand style.

Finally, in keeping with my general laziness this past week or so, I've now back-posted a blip for yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.