Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Starry Night

"Success is the ability to go from one failure to another with no loss of enthusiasm."

- Winston Churchill

This was taken today - just: 58 seconds into today, to be precise. ;-) There were a few gaps in the clouds, and I decided to set up my tripod (quite a mission in the dark) and try a long exposure. The adaptor jobby screwed onto the base of my camera proved to be less than very securely attached; I don't know how much of the smearing of the stars is due to that, and how much to movement of the stars over the 1 minute exposure (I wouldn't have expected that much in a minute, but maybe).

I've just noticed that had the ISO set at 100. Not so helpful for the dead of night ...

These things meant that the resulting photo was not the sort of success I had hoped. However, it's my first crack at trying to set up a long exposure like this - and I have not suffered a loss of enthusiasm. ;-)

Next time I might try piggy-backing the camera on my telescope, which should make it easier to aim. - And I will also raise the ISO :-p

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.