While on my runs

By waipushrink

More and yet more to come

Out on a grey early morning, with only a tractor for sale to stimulate the photographic interest. Twelve hours later Mr H and I went for a walk for him to try out his camera, and passed the same tractor, and he took an almost identical photograph of it.

Picked up the Sunday paper and headed out to Algies Bay before heading up the path into the Highfield Garden reserve. Many, many steps, and I am not obsessional enough to count them all. Nor am I in training for anything. This daily run is for pleasure, and fitness.

When I was at University in Dunedin in the 1960s, Peter Welsh trained for his Gold Medal winning run in the steeplechase at the Kingston (Jamaica) steeplechase by running repetitions up one of the steepest hills in Dunedin, where the footpath by the road was in steps. Then, and for many years afterwards, I could and would have run up these steps. Not now. I don't need to.

But the image appealed; even when the boys told me the photograph is not of steps, but a railway track. They would not believe that I walked up these steps.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.