Alex

The Colors of "A" Spectrum is an annual photography workshop given to children with autism by volunteer photographers.
I've always wanted to participate and today I've finally had the chance.

Teaching as an experience is known to be fulfilling so I woke up excited at the thought of a promising day. I prepared my gear, reviewed my notes and wore a smile. In my mind, I'll be doing a good thing since I'll be mentoring and all. Little did I know that I will be the one mentored instead.

Her name is Alex.
She's seven, she's pretty and she's extremely talented (just look at her photos, they're admittedly way better than mine!).

I was in awe as I watched her continuously pressing the shutter, endlessly framing and focusing on her Chuck taylors, at peace with the camera and her favorite subject.

In the end, it was her who taught me an essential lesson on being a photographer-- it is not just about getting the correct settings and capturing the moment but it is also about fully living in the wonder of the moment. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.