Ionnature

By ionnature

A Printer's Book Plate

My maternal grandfather was a printer, and a reader. I have a few books that once belonged to him, and the "Encyclopaedia of Poetry, A Thousand and One Gems From English and American Poets," is one of them.

For my Scottish blippers, the volume was selected and arranged by the Scottish poet, Charles Mackay in 1867. My book is the 23rd edition, and I cannot find a year reference anywhere in it. The 567 page book is illustrated throughout with woodcut prints. It's a real treasure.

I'll leave you with the first two lines of the book, by Geoffrey Chaucer:

For, this ye know well, tho' I wouldin lie,
In women is all truth and steadfastness... :)

I won't be around today or much of tonight but will catch up with all of you as soon as I can. Cheers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.