wonderfulworld

By wonderfulworld

These Boots Were Made For Walking....

I have had these boots for about 15 years or more. They have climbed many a mountain top and are still the favorite footwear for hiking.

Today, myself, Seamus and Declan decided to tackle Lugnaquilla. We were supposed to walk from Glenmalure to Glen of Imaal, but there were snow falls in East Wicklow and we decided not to chance it.

What started as an overcast day, turned out to be a stunning walk to the summit of the highest peak in Leinster (over 3,000 ft). I hadn't brought my camera because of the weather predictions. It was freezing at the top but I felt like an arctic explorer as I looked down at the cloud which was now below us shifting through the steep drop of the South Prisons. It was not possible to stay for too long admiring the scenery with the icy wind whipping around us. I had to move fast to keep warm and stop the pain in my fingers.

What a fabulous walk and eternally grateful that today was not the day I was to be thrown into the little 'Orla Lake' by Seamus and Declan!

Saw Danny Boyle's '127 Hours' with Irene last night. Incredible story, was in the canyon with that guy and felt his pain, very well filmed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.