Angels are everywhere if you look carefully

and not only carved ones! Arnos Vale is a Victorian Cemetery, originally built outside Bristol on a hillside, but Bristol has grown and it is now well within. I walked around just behind a fox judging by the aroma. It seemed like the majority of gravestones are tipped up and sliding down the hill. Moss, ivy and litchens cover the stones and sycamore, holly, bramble and ash saplings have grown between and in the graves too. In one area there was a fence around some more affluent family graves judging by the size of their memorials and it made me giggle to think of one of my first 70's records - "Why build a wall round a graveyard when nobody wants to go in?"

I do apologise to anyone who thought my Traveller's Joy was spring blossom yesterday. It wasn't meant to be a spoof. Traveller's Joy or Old Man's Beard are the seed heads of the wild clematis

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.