Joe's Blips

By joesblips

Surf 2

Another very busy day, not helped by the fact that we didn't get to bed until 3am after rather a lot of red wine was consumed during our visit to my friend Eamonn last night. The one great consolation was a text I had from him a few minutes ago in which he admitted to feeling a bit fragile all day today. I am so glad that I wasn't the only one. In fact I haven't quite come to yet, despite a walk of about 7km in the afternoon sunshine, during which I shot this photo.

One of my correspondents of yesterday wanted to know if our sea was the same colour as theirs. Well, here's the evidence. I converted yesterdays shot to black and white as the light was not good and the contrast too low in full colour. Todays blip is substantially "as out of camera".

Another correspondent hazarded a guess that yesterdays shot was of the Atlantic Ocean. In fact it is the Irish Sea, which is situated between ourselves and mainland Britain. Our location faces more or less directly at North Wales. The Atlantic is even rougher than this and a look at the map will confirm this. The West coast is very much fractured and battered by the Atlantic while we on the East have a very smooth coastline. With seas like this on a calm day, on the smooth side of the country, you can possibly imagine what a stormy day on the West is like. Rough to say the least, horrific at its worst.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.