Stephanie's Shots

By stephanie

On the Road Again

Although I said my dinner was great - it left me with a case of food poisoning - waking me up again soon after going to bed. Needless to say, the whole night was horrible.. So the next morning, I called the hotel reception and asked if I could stay in my room for another night, which luckily I could. The receptionist helped me get my car in their garage (which I had parked on the street the day before because it would have been cheaper), and then I pretty much spent the rest of the day sleeping and recovering. Late morning I was able to get down some herbal tea, and in the afternoon some glucose and salty liquorice, and then a cup of soup. Ending with a dinner consisting of two little cups of yoghurt and a mandarin (all the hotel had left as food - bit strange, but they had nothing else, but it served me well..).

Interesting story from wikipedia:
The use of yoghurt by medieval Turks is recorded in the books Diwan Lughat al-Turk by Mahmud Kashgari and Kutadgu Bilig by Yusuf Has Hajib written in the 11th century. .. An early account of a European encounter with yoghurt occurs in French clinical history: Francis I suffered from a severe diarrhoea which no French doctor could cure. His ally Suleiman the Magnificent sent a doctor, who allegedly cured the patient with yoghurt. Being grateful, the French king spread around the information about the food which had cured him.

So, after sleeping the whole day and the whole night, my body seemed good enough again to go on the road, and today I drove the last five hours of my journey to get home. Very glad to be back, now just one more day of rest tomorrow before I have to get back to work..

Oh and the photo is some kind of church/chapel I saw by the side of the road in France, and luckily was able to make a quick snapshot of :)


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Gimp:
levels 10-1.0-255, curves, contrast +3

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.