Living In The Valley

By CatbirdCottage

Yellow finches and a sign of spring

On the weekends I have a bit more time to do more bird shots and there are several congregating at the feeders. Last month I blipped the yellow & purple finches at the feeder. Today I noticed the yellow finches did look a bit more yellow to me. They will change to brilliant yellow by spring and then turn drab by winter. I am always encouraged to see the yellow come back, it's always a wonderful sign of spring approaching. I hope you can see the difference a month has made to his plumage. Old man winter is here for a few days. This morning was close to zero Fahrenheit plus the wind chill. There is another winter storm hitting the south starting tonight.


December look at the finch




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.