Flying-leap

By flying

White-faced Heron

Finally I have captured one!!!  Yay!!

I took many shots while I was out and about getting a few jobs done, and getting completely carried away with this Heron. I did have closer shots but the colours of this one with the ripple and bit of vegetation just caught my attention. He/She was wading along quietly as the tide was going out and finding plenty to snack on.

I was back at Kaiapoi River, where yesterdays blip, Lazy Sunday, was taken. After the earthquake the river was closed for recreational activities and all birdlife - apart from Mallard ducks had vanished. But yesterday I noticed a return of life to the river. NZ Pied Shags, Swallows and White Faced Herons are starting to return, along with many leisure time activities for people now the river is open. Its great to see activity of all kinds on the river again.

Early blip today - hubbys parents have left us after having a wonderful time with us. My house is in disarray after having many people to stay over the last month, I will take some time this week to sort through things and get back to some sort of organisation.

I'll be back to commenting very soon but would like to thankyou for your comments over the last month when I have been so busy and unable to comment fully - your comments have been a pleasure to read :))

Heading into Christchurch very soon - a few more jobs to do, then home for a bbq meal tonight, nice and easy - thats the beauty of Summer :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.