Trisharooni

By trisharooni

Up the wall

Some years ago I dropped into the local watchmaker. Straightaway it was obvious that there was a good photo to be had.

It then occurred to me that it would be a good project to record all the businesses in Blackheath. It's just about the right size to be possible.
What I do is photograph the exterior of the shop and then the owner(s), with as much of their surroundings as possible in the photo.
I have also changed the original concept and include schools, churches, organisations of all kinds and prominent individuals.

It's pretty straightforward, but I have to be diligent in updating when businesses change hands (I have missed a couple that went out of business before I could get to them) and in the right mood to bail people up and explain what I'm doing. Initially most people think I'm selling something , but so far I've only had one knockback.

I now have thousands of images and my hopes are that one day, when I'm long gone, it will be a fascinating social history of a small Australian town in the 21st century.

This is all by way of explaining this photo, as today I caught up with a couple of businesses, and this young chap works in the local climbing equipment shop and is standing in front of a climbing wall.
This isn't the proprietor, but his offsider, who looked young and hip, and up for a blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.