Try

By sandraatje

The mines of Bolivia

Of all the working people I have blipped, I think these must have the hardest job. Today I went on a tour in the mines, in which we met working people who are too young, too tired, and have been working too many years and too many hours in a row in the mines. Some start at 2 in the morning until 4, to start again later in the afternoon. Sometimes they work 8 hours a day, sometimes 24; it all depends on how much they are able to find to make some money. Without any other options, this is the only thing they can do. Many starting at a young age, some forgetting how long they have already worked there. All they eat is coco leaves, and all they drink is juice, which we also brought as a gift for them. They look tired, exhausted.

After only approximately 1,5 hour inside without having to work, I was happy to have some fresh air. I was happy to be able to take a shower afterwards and not having to return. So if you didn?t go with a smile today to your job, please do so tomorrow and be happy that you don?t have to work here.

About the photo, I wanted to avoid using flash, and I think the 1600 ISO, grainy effect, helps portraying the situation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.