Portsmouth and beyond...

By johnnyc1959

Still life with bicycle....

Throughout Kathmandu there are innumerable temples that are slowly crumbling away....sad in itself, but more so when you consider that the courtyards which surround the temples are in a similar state of disrepair, and that families live there.

I've passed this temple innumerable times on the way to the VSO office, but this is the first time I've actually gone in. Its quite 'easy' to photograph decay and juxtapose it with human existence, but I wanted to capture a 'ghost' of human activity...

Kathmandu is phenomenally dusty, and the bike looks like its been there for a good while. There are a couple of discarded rice pressure cookers at the back against the wall, and the colour of the brickwork captures something of the faded glory...

I'm planning to go back when I have more time, as theres a good 1/2 days photography to be had..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.