dailykeith

By dailykeith

Gracias Primark

A fleeting thought that I need a holiday has been turned into a yearning desire, thanks to bargain basement store Primark.

It has put up giant black and white photographs in its windows featuring scenes from big cities, one of which leaped out at me.

It was of the Plaza Mayor in Madrid - a city Mrs Dailykeith and I have visited two or three times in the past couple of years and which we count among our favourites.

The photo immediately conjured up wonderful memories.

I pictured dipping freshly made churros into mugs of thick chocolate at the Chocolateria San Gines, seeing marvellous art at three world-class galleries (Prado, Reina Sofia, Thyssen-Bornemisza) and relaxing in the huge Retiro park.

I could also see us marvelling at the indoor garden at the Atocha station and sipping coffee in the Cafe Comercial - famous as a meeting place for writers and intellectuals and which has a splendid interior with leather seats and walls covered in huge mirrors.

And I could imagine us taking strolls away from the city centre to enjoy the multicultural Lavapies barrio with its wonderful bars and restaurants - and where our son lived briefly.

Then there is the Plaza Mayor itself - a bit touristy, but still a magnificent centrepiece. Right now, I could think of nowhere else I'd rather be.

So, thanks Primark. It might not have drawn me into your store, but your photo was a real thrill.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.