Clearing the cobwebs...

Well I feel I've had a really good start to the year.

Firstly, my first expenditure of the year went to charity and secondly I've achieved an ambition already.

Last night I was explaining to Cassie (our Australian house guest and subject of this Blip) about the Loony Dook and how I was going to blip it in the morning as I meant to do it last year but completely forgot. This conversation turned from me getting the Blip to both of us actually doing the Dook.

For those not in the know, the Loony Dook it a traditional swim in the Forth River off South Queensferry on New Years Day.

Mary sweet mother of Jesus, that water is cold. We did manage to get up to our necks in it. Very invigorating and actually a pleasant walk back the the pub from whence we started out.

I took my BlipTool in a polybag to keep it relatively dry until we got in the water but really I should have bothered as it took a wee bit of a splashing and survived. I was struggling to get the thing out the bag as the rest of my senses were being assaulted by the situation.

Thank you Cassie for helping me achieve something I've wanted to do for a few years and Happy New Year all those in BlipLand, I look forward to another year of excellent photos and stories.

Mmmmm Mmmm, Champagne does taste particularly lovely whilst paddling in close to freezing water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.