MacJournal

By macjournal

Itsy Bitsy Spider

Preparing for REALLY inclimate weather, I found this beauty in a sling we use to bring in firewood. A large 2 inch spider, fairly dosile and an unusual design on its terminal end, I was sure it would be a cinch to identify. After gleaning the internet and all the field guides in my personal library...I had no idea.
I finally found a photo of an almost identical spider, a Delena cancerides, a Huntsman spider native to Australia.
Well, heck, that seamed unlikely. Further research illuminated the fact that in the 1920's, this species stowed away to a new land, New Zealand. It was called the Avondale Spider there...Avondale is a suburb of Auckland...I just happen to have a neighbor who moved here a couple of years ago from Auckland.

So, I don't know WHO this spider is...I will graciously accept any suggestions.

Bit of trivia : the Avondale Spider was the 'prototype' for 'SPIDER MAN"!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.