The No

By TheNo

This Evening With Not Richard & Not Stewart Ei

I had tickets for a recording of Stewart Lee's new TV show tonight at an old working men's club up the road.

I say 'for'. The ticket bookers' small print was clear. 'We do,' it admitted, 'over-issue tickets by a percentage to compensate for inevitable no-shows.'

A percentage. Now, what would you expect that to amount to? 10%? 20% 25% at the most, surely?

Despite getting there five minutes before doors opened, the best we were offered once we got to the head of the massive queue was the offer of being able to watch it on TV in the bar. All 140 seats had been allocated already.

I made do with this shot of the spectacular staircase and off I jolly well fucked.

He's still ace, mind.

Still, it's not as if I left work early tonight, knowing that in doing so I was setting myself up for a pretty hectic day when I return to my desk and... Oh, hang on...


Embiggen

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.