Bitter River

By shaun22

Artist's Rendering of Me

by Poison the Well

it's a new year. also considering that this is entry #391 for me, i think it's time for a bit of change. sometime soon my display name will be changing to:
Bitter River.
im not calling myself bitter. my entries have always been named after songs, and until now my display name has been named after a song by poison the well. they had been my favorite band since i first heard them, when i saw them live, in my sophomore year of high school. they are still one of my favorite bands (i even dedicated a blip to their new album), but things are changing. bitter river is the name of the album by pygmy lush, and i have been completely infatuated with it since my first listen.

i've recently become a college graduate, and there will likely be several large changes in my life in the upcoming year. i honestly have no idea where i will be living or working in just a few months from now.

along with this change, i will be attempting to force a few rules upon myself, in ragards to this site, and this is the closest thing to a new years resolution i will be making.
1) take at least ten pictures a day, preferably of multiple subjects
2) try to avoid huge amounts of back posting
3) comment more- to people i do and don't subscribe to.
4) don't force myself to post an entry, if i hate all of my pictures.
none of these are drastic, and some may be unavoidable (my backposting is generally caused by computer/ internet issues, not laziness). these are baby steps towards avoiding entries like yesterday's. lately ive been trying to step up a bit in my picture taking, but i want to make sure things like yesterday's entry don't happen again. its a challenge to myself. i want my blips to be something i'm proud of, and not just post an entry for every day for fear of having a blank one. i also never want to type the words 'this is the only picture i took' again.

of my 391 entries so far, only 98 remain on my computer. this means that i delete three out of every four blips i take. i want this ratio to change.

this is me. some random info:
--22 is favorite number
--recently graduated with a BA in Audio Post Production
--fav bands: architecture in helsinki, bear vs shark, city of caterpillar, deadlock, death from above 1979, deftones, eighteen visions, legion of doom, melt banana, muse, neon blonde, pg99, poison the well, pygmy lush
--fav filmmakers: wes anderson, michel gondry, werner herzog, peter jackson, jim jarmusch, ki-duk kim, takashi miike, john cameron mitchell, chan-wook park, sam raimi, nicolas roeg, quentin tarantino, julie taymor, lars von trier, shinya tsukamoto
--fav writers: chris bachelder, garth ennis, neil gaiman, brad meltzer, alan moore, grant morrison, chuck palahniuk, brian k vaughan

consider Artist's Rendering of Me all wrapped up, and hopefully this will be a bit of a new beginning for me.

happy new year, everyone. : )

*a year ago today*

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.