Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Rebels

God my boy's gorgeous.

And busily studying his reflection in the shiny frame of the Schwinn.

Reuben's all cleared for surgery on 18th.

I had the two of them in matching green and grey sweaters from Mum, Callum at last wearing reins which kept him within arm's reach and Reuben holding his hand, running alongside him. It made a beautiful moment that had me smiling and passersby laughing, a sweet little touch to their day in the hospital. The boys would, on occasion, stop and give each other a big kiss, then await the testosterone to kick in and wrestle with each other, the two of them rolling around on the floor with big smiles on their faces. Callum had been carrying one of his babies, the tinniest of the Russian dolls and I didn't realize baby had joined us on this hospital visit so thought to put the doll in my pocket so it wouldn't get lost. Then, on reflection, I knew that Callum wouldn't let the baby out of his sight so gave it back to him and thought no more about it. So, from the waiting room, into the bathroom, then down the elevator, along the corridor, into the carpark we went. Until, that is it dawned on me as I looked down into his hand, "Where's the baby?". Callum didn't know where it was. So, out of the carpark, back to the hospital, the boys holding hands, Callum in reins we went, up the rump, along the corridor, up the elevator, into the bathroom, back into the waiting room and it was at just about that point that I reached into my pocket to feel, the baby.

PS: I was thinking of buying some actions tonight, mooching around in PS8, but then went back into my Aperture, played around a bit and bingo, made some new ones myself {grin}. I feel I can achieve pretty much everything I want to now in Aperture, although this was really rather a lot of work tonight!

PPS: Oh! just check out the darlings last year on the thumb below. So sweet to see again (love this feature).

Best viewed large for the reasons:
- Horrigans bought membership for me for that reason and
- You can see Reuben's hole in the neck that will be opened up so the surgeon can close up
- You can see all the work I put into this storyboard and then say nice things, right?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.