Sunbeams

By Saffi

Fennel by night

These weather-beaten Fennel seedheads were a fun experiment on returning to the backdoor from a walk. I had made up my mind that this was my last chance of a blip today! They remind me of a rather ragged piece of applique embroidery! Not many seeds left at this time of year but no doubt they will have reseeded themselves all over the garden.

Fennel (Foeniculum vulgare) used to be hung over the doors, together with St John's Wort, on Midsummer's Eve to protect the house from evil spirits and witchcraft. The seeds, leaves and roots can be eaten. My father used to chew fennel seed when he had the urge to smoke a cigarette when he was giving up and this apparently helped him a lot!

Not a very good weather forecast for the rest of the week. I have been trying to contact friends in Ipswich near Brisbane as last night the news was that the town had now been hit by the horrendous floods. They have two little boys. Hopefully Margaret will email me at some stage to say they are safe.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.