John Van de Graaff

By VandeGraaff

Blue Cranes at the Louvre

A dull, misty, drizzly day in Paris, which didn't produce an overwhelmingly obvious blip.

Perhaps because I've been into construction, I chose this shot of two blue cranes taken from inside I.M. Pei's pyramid at the Louvre. (For the pyramid in perspective, see here.)

In addition to the Louvre, we also went to the Jeu de Paume* (a museum now devoted to photography), to see an extensive exhibition on the photographer Andre Kertesz--wonderful and even overwhelming.

Edit: My reference above to construction refers to our new house being built in Northampton Mass.; the latest blip is here, with a link starting the chain further back. we will occupy the house when we return to the States in the spring.

In the 1960's, when I first visited Paris, the *Jeu de Paume housed the impressionist and post-impressionist paintings now in the Musee d'Orsay. They hung simply, in traditional, large galleries, and it was wonderful--my first-time introduction to top-class art. I miss it sorely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.