CVB Photos

By cvbphotos

Royal Exchange Square

Having missed my train connection tonight, I decided to take a little wander into the city centre. Royal Exchange Square is pretty at this time of year with the Christmas Lights still suspended from the rooftops of the Gallery of Modern Art (GOMA) - a beautiful building with large Greek Temple columns.

I actually took this on the steps of the building behind GOMA - another grand building with similar pillars.

I remember the square in the days before it was pedestrianised - in fact it was there that I was given a parking ticket and cautioned soon after I'd passed my driving test. And around that time was a popular pub called Charlie Parkers, where all the medics hung out and tried to pull girls by leaving their stethoscopes hanging out of their pockets. Memories memories.

These days it is very pleasant area with cafe culture much in evidence. It was quiet tonight though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.