Framer's Intent...

By Scrybe

Back Up Plan

So, after I blipped about my new hard drive here, Davidd posted asking if I have a back up plan.

Well here (up there^^^) it is!

I now have two 500GB external drives. One will have all my photos and my Lightroom catalogue on it. The other will be a clone of the first one.

In addition to this, I now have 100 DVDs for the bargainous cost of £10. Each day I shoot, I'll burn a disc (two, if needed) of my RAW files, date it, and put it on my shelf. They arrived today (despite being ordered ages before the new HDD, tsk tsk play.com).

If one HD fails, I have the other as a back up. Should, quel horror, they both fail at the same time, I still have the originals that I can work from. The idea being, the originals copied to DVD can't be deleted in a user error, or otherwise corrupted (obv, I'll check the burn goes successfully). Re-editing would be a pain, but less of a pain than losing everything. Even over the course of a year, this DVD option should only cost me about £30.

Alas, I've yet to configure a suitable off site storage system that is both affordable and large enough to take all my different files. But I will be uploading my jpegs to the web (not flickr, a private storage system I have). I'm looking into options there, but it's less of a worry now I have the main system set up. This is how I'll be spending my weekend. Oh joy.

But, it is worth it. :-)

And it does mean I can have music on my laptop once again. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.