Point de Vue

By Alsacienne

Tribute to Haiti

On the anniversary of the Haitian earthquake, some of the photos from my trip there were exhibited in the atrium of my organization, the World Bank.

The trip, which took place in November, as a way of documenting the progress my organization made in its work there, was such an eye opening experience -- the resilience and beauty of Haitians in sharp contrast to the devasting and lingering effects of the quake. Haiti is such a complex country, with an unusual history for which it still pays a price today. I get annoyed to no end at the simplistic approach of the mass media which descended en force into the country this week. "Stay a while," I want to say "and get to know who you're actually talking about..."
Here is a slide show with annotations, with more of my pictures:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/alsacienne/sets/72157625494252090/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.