D77

By D77

Music, oatcakes and other ramblings

These are my new Sennheiser PX-100 Mark II headphones. They are a thing of beauty and the best headphones I've owned yet.

At the moment, I'm mostly listening to the rather impressive TRON: Legacy soundtrack by Daft Punk. Who'd have thought they could do stuff like this?

Underneath the Sennheisers is the Samsung Galaxy S, the best smartphone available at the moment. It's housed in a tough protective case, which I don't normally go for, but which allows me to be a little bit rougher with it than I would were it not protected.

Talking of rough, just out of shot are seven Nairn's Original Oatcakes, but that's a blip for another day.

Security has been bumped up at university amid growing concerns over the recent trouble in the city that is occupying the minds of many of my collegues. (The same is happening at all private education buildings across the city.)

I found out today that low status Muslim women of a certain age are referred to as 'Om' (meaning 'mother of') plus the name of their first born child. I asked what the cleaner's name was, to which the reply was 'Om-Heba' (mother of Heba). Amazing, I thought, that they are not referred to by their own name as a result of their lower social status.

Other than that, I marked a few exams, pondered my recent success at keeping depression at bay, and am hoping that tonight will provide pizza, DVDs and cosying up on the couch rather than the slightly worrying alternative.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.