tempus fugit

By ceridwen

The penthouse suite

Even though it's only January, seabirds are already noisily reviewing the vacant accommodation. The coastal cliffs here, half mile from where I live, are full of fissures and ledges that make precarious nesting places (although 'nest' is a optimistic description for what is little more than a rough scrape or cranny in which to park an egg).

When I went to look on this damp and misty afternoon the gulls were screeching as they glided to and fro, landing every now and then to a chorus of raucous squawks from those already, briefly, in position. This pinnacle, which looks unstable yet to the best of my knowledge has not changed in living memory, is the focus of much competition - it has some highly desirable ledges around it and the finest sea views.

(I could have wished for sharper definition here but this was the best I could achieve from a safe distance.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.