Who knew?

By InOtherNews

On Hold

Welcome to 1 x picture of Tupholme Abbey. I nipped there en route to seeing a customer to grab this shot of the whole abbey. I wasn't sure which angle to blip, or whether to roll with colour or mono. I hit up mono because it is a dull and overcast day.

Tupholme Abbey is close to the village of Southrey where I dated a girl from in my younger years. I'll be honest without mentioning her name she was a proper headcase. After we broke up she actually broke into my house in the night and climbed in bed with me. I'm a heavy sleeper and like someone warm to cuddle up to, so it was only around 7.30am that I realised what had happened. I did what any self respecting man would do.

After that I kicked her out and haven't seen her since.

Anyway we used to come here to the Abbey in my old 1.2 Nova for some together time, and I always used to be a bit freaked out by the dark abbey in the field. I don't know why but bizarrely I have a thing about dark buildings at night. In the day it was far less imposing.

Bit of history:Sod it, someone else can do the boring bit.

My knowledge of it was the rock concert of 1972 (although I was six years away from being anything other than an itch in my Dads slacks) when the tiny village of Bardney hosted Rod Stewart and the Beach Boys in an open air festival. The actual location was Tupholme Abbey.

So that's 4 days of places that influenced me as a kid. I planned to shoot my old primary school, but not sure a menacing looking man with a camera is going to be too well recieved. My secondary school is off limits as well because even though the kids are a bit older I think society would frown on that as well. If I mooch round to my old college with a camera i'm likely to bump into girls too young for me but of an age to be interesting. So I'm afraid 'education building' highlights are omitted from the journal. I will however be continuing the series.

Oh my 'date' for tomorrow has just called, she has to work. She handles telephone calls externally for small buisnesses, whose hours I would estimate are 9-5 Monday to Friday. She has to work until 9pm on a Saturday?

Yeah that's what I thought. Maybe I'll do a series entilted 'what exactly is wrong with me' and try and capture the repugnant side of my personality that I don't ever see, because it appears plenty of people out there do.

I'll end on a positive note. Rang Scottish Power to give them a firm round of f*cks for doubling my bill for no reason. I got to speak to a girl called Karen (and she sounded hot as well), who within 30 seconds had sorted the issue. I take back my jibe at Scotland the other day, although she was welsh.

I'm a sucker for the welsh accent :-)

Have a good weekend, and when you wake up Sunday, hung over with a bit of dribble on the pillow, just be thankful the first thing you smell is your partners foul alcohol laden breath in your face. All I'll be smelling is whatever I manage to have thrown up on and climbed into bed wearing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.