Starting over

By debra

It's The Simple Things

I was 16,and as I recall it was a Saturday, I was hanging out with friends and we decided we were going to venture out and search for a place called Mary's Grave. We had tried numerous times before, but without success.

The story was that a girl named Mary had been murdered and left on the side of the road next to the Graveyard, and it was said that everynight she walks up and down the street crying for her mother. Of course it was just bullshit, but back then we believed it.

Anyway I was in the backseat of a 1978 Plymouth Valari sitting next to Jimmy Tullo who I had the biggest crush on... god he was cute(looked just like Scott Baio) a nervous wreck I was, but I managed to appear aloof, because thats what I was told I should do. Looking at him every now and again and then quickly staring in a different direction when he looked back. Oh, the games we play.


So, long story short, while heading down the road that was supposed to lead to the graveyard, Jimmy put his arm around me, pulled me toward him and layed a kiss on me, A moment I will never forget, and then this song came on.

We never did make it to Mary's Grave.

Happy Friday all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.