The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

On the edge again

Arnside Marsh, Kent Estuary, Cumbria

A different sort of edge. The edge between saltmarsh and mudflat. One of my favourite places, a healing space, seemingly far from anywhere. A place of birds and water, rippling mud, sticky quicksands and sinuous creeks. Sheep grazing the saltings. The rise and fall of the tides. A dynamic, ever changing landscape.

At lunchtime, I went for my second piece of dentistry in successive days, and my teeth are an intact set again. Afterwards, I took the afternoon off to make up for two evenings travelling this week. The mirky morning cleared into cloudy blue skies, and I had a walk on Arnside Marsh.

I'm blipping late, we had a meal out this evening to celebrate Maggie's birthday.

One new bird species today, a small flock of ringed plovers far out on the mudflats. Total for 2011: 78 species.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.