meccanica

By meccanica

spy valley

In line with our new "more adventures" policy Lizi and I had a low-key adventure to Blenheim today. Among other things we secured a large box of apricots for bottling (and eating on the way home) and visited the Omaka Airfield where I first learnt to fly powered aircraft*. Highlight of the day was a visit to Spy Valley for a tasting. We sat down after the tasting with a bottle of their Envoy Gewurtztraminer some cheese, crackers, avocado, nectarines and plums and reminded ourselves that life is too short to drink bad wine**.

*Side story: I learnt to fly on an ATC flying camp. Unfortunately at close to going solo I put my foot down a hole in the tarseal near the World War Two era sleeping quarters and took off enough skin on my shin (a big flap) that I would have been grounded if any of the instructors found out (or at least, thats what I thought at the time). So with the help of some of the others the wound was repaired as best we could, dressed and bandaged and I wore trousers in 30 degree heat until the end of the camp. Luckily no infection took hold and I still have two legs. :]

**Monsieur Pujol will possibly say a certain amount of 'Chateau Effect' took place that afternoon. I hope not as we purchased a few extras to take home...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.