Colin Parte

By ColinParte

Two Thousand Yard Stare

Lie in until 08:50, work from 10:00 until 19:00, then darkness with no baby sitter, while the boss goes to work, results in yet another emergency Blip.

So. This is my small collection of photography books. To be honest, I rather take pictures than read about them, but everyone needs some inspiration from time to time. In my twenties, I had a collection of photographic books all featuring the Vietnam War, with authors like Tim Page. I wish I had them now but I have no idea what happened to them. It was looking at the Time magazines that my Dad brought home in the early '70s, with all the dramatic pictures from the Vietnam War that made me want to be a photojournalist, until I screwed up my education. *sobs* ;)

Don McCullin has always been a favourite and he spent time in Vietnam. One of his most famous pictures is of the US Marine in Hue City in 1968 during the Tet Offensive with the 'two thousand yard stare" - Google it people; it's a fantastic capture. I bought this book over the summer in Drogheda. The Freeze Frame book by Douglas Kirkland was rescued by my sister from a recycling bin and donated to me. The Doisneau was purchased in Dublin, again, over the summer. Doisneau is most famous for his shot of the two lovers kissing in Paris in the '40s. He worked all his life as a photographer and it's an excellent book. Hot Shots was bought this week. I'm not through it yet but already it has given me some ideas.

I'm working all day tomorrow again, so God knows what you'll be faced with tomorrow evening. My commiserations!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.