My Life Is Not Average

By melamny

Twenty plus

This baby grand currently lives in my church office.

My parents met for the first time in this building. I went to nursery there. We had our church there for a couple of years. The office has been there 20-odd years.

But now, the building (which never actually belonged to my church) has been sold to developers and they have been given planning permission to knock it down and turn it into 20+ flats that the community doesn't want or need.

What makes this all worse is that the developers don't care about the community. They haven't listened to the objections. They have lied all along the way. They're only in it for the money.

So where does this leave us? Packing up and finding homes and storage for more than 20 years' worth of nursery equipment, files, and thousands of greetings cards, let alone finding somewhere else to have the office. Goodbye, building I have known longer than my home :'(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.