Annie's In Oregon

By anniescottage

Lookin' Up

Low key and lookin' up!

"It was a dark and stormy night..." uh, I should say day...all day.
Between eye drop installments for Mother C, the rest of the hours were spent at the Cottage for the taking down of the Christmas Tree, a wee bit of cleaning and some leisure. I had my laptop, and while wandering through some blip journals, I felt encouraged while looking at Dutchoaks Daily, to go outside and see how the Chestnut Tree was looking this winter. It grows from the neighbor's yard, but blesses ours with leaves and Chestnuts on the ground...as well as some shade.

Looking up, I saw a very lovely tree against a very gray sky. Change the setting on the camera and voila! it is a blue sky! Wouldn't it be grand if life could be that easy? Well, I've pondered the changes in me over the past few years, and I've decided that it kind of is. I have focused my attention on giving a positive word every chance I get. To try to see what is worthy of praise in every situation. While I fail...too often...there is a bit of habit forming about it, and I have to say that, today, I found that "lookin' up" and changing the attitude is a lovely way to turn gray into a happier shade of blue in my heart and then to see it reflected on the faces around me, is positively grand! I don't know anyone at all who doesn't have a good reason to walk around feeling very gray as often as they like. Yet, to believe that there is something praiseworthy in every day is the same as the old saying, "count your blessings". I guess our grandmas and grandpas already understood that.

Philippians 4:8 "Finally...whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy-meditate on these things."

Once upon a time, as a younger person, I would say that I strained to try to change my attitude and found myself angry and frustrated at myself which was totally counter productive. Today, it is more of a submission to the God of the Universe who knows me and Who I can trust with my emotions. If I need to cry and rant, I tell Him. If I need to whine, I tell Him. Then I ask for help to think of the things above.

To my niece far away...don't ever give up. Everything you are striving for and everything you want to plant in the hearts of your children will be there when it is time. What a beautiful woman, and a beautiful mother you are! Thank you for believing in me always. I believe in you every bit as much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.