dailykeith

By dailykeith

Togetherness

I've been reflecting on a visit Mrs Dailykeith and I paid yesterday to a long-time friend who was, shockingly, diagnosed with cancer in October.

A newspaper feature I was reading was trying to argue that the abnormality of cancer was fast becoming the norm in our society.

But there is certainly nothing normal about life now for our friend. She told us in detail about the illness and her treatment, and about the awful side-effects she faces as she tries to win her battle.

She is a strong person and is bearing up well, and she managed plenty of laughs as we talked about all sorts of other things.

And it occurred to me that friends have an important role to play, not just in offering practical support, but just by being there and being positive.

I thought my wife's new necklace - and its bright, colourful links - was very appropriate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.