Plot 17

By plot17

Thy wee-bit housie, too, in ruin!

A couple of weeks early for Burns, but very apprpriate today for this wee moose's nest. A cosy wee nest about the size of a large grapefruit, made of grass, moss, and honesty seed heads.

I've had a pond on my allotment for several years, and last summer I discovered a split in the liner. This was my one window of opportunity to replace it before the frogs arrive in mid-February.

Every bucket and container pressed into service to empty it, a couple of little frogs 2-3 cm, probably from last year came out with the mud. It was on lifting the old liner I found the nest, and two mice made their escape. The 'burrows' on the left are how they reached the nest which was about 20 cm from the edge

I shouldn't be sentimental about them, and they probably wont be homeless for long; the new liner is sitting open for now and since it was underlaid with an old duvet, that should keep them warm enough!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.