Captain's Logbook

By CaptainSensible

The unacceptable face of rugby!

A young lad lies screaming on the ground. His horrified teammates clutch their heads in anguish. The team coach and first aider rush onto the pitch, stress etched onto their faces.

I knew it wasn't my son but my blood still ran cold.

This scene must play itself out the length and breadth of the country every weekend.

Does it have to be this way?

I don't care how it happened, nor what players were involved. I believe that there is one person on the pitch who is responsible for the safety of all players.

While an amateur attitude of "stiff upper lip" and "boys have to learn" continues nothing will be done.

This player will be fine thank goodness.

This was the second serious injury during that match.Why was it allowed to happen and how bad does the injury have to be before action is taken?

I think boxing is a safer sport at amateur level!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.