tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Early start

My younger son has spent a few days at home and left early today to return to Bristol where he's an MA student. Here his friend picks him up to drive him the 15 miles to the railway station on a misty-moist morning. Despite the relatively early hour he managed to cram a breakfast of porridge and poached egg into his skinny frame to keep him going for the next 3 hours.

Quickly shot, this image has no particular photographic merit but for me it captures the sense of haste that usually accompanies this young man. I also like the way the colour of his hat (cherished survivor of numerous borrowings and mislayings!) matches the car, and I am reminded that his leather jacket with shearling collar (dead fashionable this winter!) was previously mine for many years, and I bought it, already well-worn, for £3 at a car boot sale in the early 90s.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.