CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Up close and personal

After taking Helena to her teaching job, I was half-way up the Golden Valley from Chalford. So I wandered by car all the way, took the long climb up Cowcombe Hill above the village, parked and walked.

This road was made as a Turnpike, ascending steeply from the narrow bottom to the open lands above. Deep down below me, the very narrow valley, no more than 100 metres wide, encompassed a main railway line, a disused canal, the River Frome and the village street. There are wonderful panoramic views across to the village of perched houses, cottages and large 'clothiers' homes. Sadly I found no good shots. I will be back.

As I went back down to the old railway station site, now a new housing estate, I saw a farm gate, next to a an old moss-covered tree. A Shetland pony was looking rather morose, standing on an island in the middle of a series of large puddles. I went over to the gate and called him but he didn't respond.

Several other ponies and horses also stood off in the field. Two of them wandered over. One of them was very friendly and came up close to me and let me touch and stroke his neck and nose. I loved being this close to a horse again. I rubbed ny head against him and smelt that wonderful aroma of a horse. He also let me take pictures like this one which says so much to me about contact and connection. I wish I could have given him a treat.

The added bonus of this blip is that I've fulfilled my recent promise to take a self-portrait. Well, I can see me in his eye. I will go back and see him with a few carrots one day soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.