For Comments Only

By comments

Memories

My mom was a great one for keeping journals...I'm not exactly sure how many she kept during her lifetime, but when she died over 5 years ago, my sisters and I each took some of them for our own. This is my collection of them, and while I read some of them shortly after she died, it was too hard to get through them without tears. I started reading them again just yesterday, and her words bring a smile to my face and a tear to my eye as I daily miss this dear, gently woman who was more than a mom...she was my friend...and a friend to all she met! She loved to laugh, was married to my dad for 63 years, and loved spending time with her kids, grandkids and great-grandkids...we are all the more blessed for having her in our lives. Every now and then someone will tell me that I laugh like my mom, or in the case of my children, they often tell me that I pat their leg the same way she did when they are sitting next to me! Nice things to inherit I think!

I like the quote on the front of one of the journals: Write it down! Memories are all that's left! Live, Love, Laugh! Things my mom definitely did in her life!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.