PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

Bird's Eye View

My first blip from the air (posted 09 Dec 10) was a view of Dartmoor with bits of snow in places. Today we again flew over the South Hams of Devon, my husband piloting the little Eurostar. The sky was a clear, cloudless blue if you looked straight up, but there were bits of low cloud in places, making it a little hazy for photos, and slightly bumpy flying at times.

Nevertheless, home again, I found myself spoilt for choice as to which picture to share. Should it be the Avon Dam on the moors, with its white foamy cascade after all the recent rain? (No, my last bird's eye blip was of Dartmoor.) Should it be the beautiful beaches I walk on often, below Strete and Stoke Fleming: Blackpool Sands and Slapton Sands, with Slapton Ley, the freshwater lake across the road - as featured recently on BBC's Countryfile? (No, too hazy an image.) Should it be Burgh Island - only accessible at low tide, except by boat? (No, too much reflection from inside the cockpit.)

Finally, I chose the clearest image of today's shots from the sky: Salcombe, with Burgh Island just visible in the distant haze. It captures the lovely deep red Devon soil in the fields, the winding estuary that leads to Kingsbridge, and many moored boats. Suffice it to say: it was a short but wonderful flight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.