various intervals

On the way to and from work there were a number of instances of lightly threatening driving to contend with. At lunchtime and this evening, only one apiece.

I took a reading from the odometer on my bicycle-computer at the start of the year* with the intention of seeing how much I cycle** during the course of the year***. As circumstances**** have so far conspired against popping out very often in the evening***** I popped out for a trundle at lunchtime, combining the basic head-freshening with slightly fresher non-rush-hour air and exercise with taking a route taking in a road I'd not previously been along******. I was fainly worried that when the invigoration wore off that I'd be struggling to keep myself awake towards the end of the afternoon but only experienced the normal level of extreme later-afternoon tiredness, so shall repeat the experiment even though I also had time to pop out again in the evening, though that ride was less pleasant due to overdressing for the temperature and not having a bag to stick my top layer in. I was also slightly sabotaged by a traffic crossing which deigned not to detect me and skipped out the exit I was on from the sequence, though as I've been trying to make a note of significant pot-holes when I've been out I'll include a description of the problem with the traffic crossing when I report the pot-holes whose location I can recall accurately enough to Clarence the pot-hole-fixing fictional lion. The wingpiglet was being contentedly fed when I got home but started lightly squawking shortly after being put back down. As expected, the squawking degenerated into coughing and vomiting though he did go back to sleep in his cot for a bit, but relapsed at some point in the early morning, with the eventual result of me getting to work at ten minutes past eleven after taking over primary monitoring duties to let Nicky get some sleep.

*I forgot to do it at the very start of the year but was able to work out what the reading would have been by subtracting the distance accrued on the resettable milometer register.

**I've already missed out a couple of journeys by forgetting to mount the computer, though so far it's only been one trip from office to office and another from office to bicycle-shop.

***Assuming I remember to take a note of the reading at the end of the year, or that I don't stick the computer through the wash (as I did its predecessor, which survived, albeit with a warped casing which no longer fitted the mount).

****

*****I had another plan to record a GPX track of every non-commute journey undertaken, perhaps with the eventual aim of overlaying them all at the end of the year, but have so far only logged one trip.

******It being Kaimes Road, 'up' is probably more appropriate than 'along'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.