Booky Goatherd

By Booky_Goatherd

Albert Embankment

I had to go to a meeting in Vauxhall today, so when I was done I walked back to work along Albert Embankment. It was an absolutely beautiful day, making such a nice change from the rain we have had recently.

On the subject of Vauxhall, I heard an interesting story once. The Russian word for railway station is 'Voksal'. Apparently, when Russia was wanting to expand its railway network in the 19th century, it sent over some engineers to look at the British railway system. The first place the engineers were taken to was Vauxhall railway station. As a result, they left England thinking that the word for railway station was 'Vauxhall'. i.e. 'Voksal'. I have no idea whether this is really what happened but it is a nice story.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.