WorldLens

By worldlens

Fruit Som Tam

Som Tam is a spicy Thai salad made from shredded green papaya. It often contains raw green beans, tomatoes, small dried shrimp, fish sauce, lime juice and of course spicy Thai chili peppers. I like the regular salad (minus the dried shrimp and tomatoes), but today one of the students in my English class asked if I'd ever tried Fruit Som Tam. I hadn't even heard of it, so after class, we went to the market to find some. We had to go to three different food stalls before finding one that made it. Our search was well worth the effort.

Fruit Som Tam is pretty much a fruit salad with Thai flavor (sour lime juice, salty fish sauce, and spicy peppers.) My salad included strawberries, guava, apples, pineapple, corn, shredded carrots, tomatoes, green beans, and shrimp. It was delicious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.