NoodlePix

By Pix

The ice melts

The ice has all gone from the pond and so I plugged in the solar panel. The sun came out, and the fountain flowed a little. It will flow stronger when the sun gets higher in the springtime. It always flows when the sun is out. Long may the sun shine. X

It has been a day of extremes already. Let's just dwell on the positive ones. Apart from the re-birth of our fountain, my lovely children made me funny and creative birthday cards, and brought me breakfast in bed. They do well sometimes to battle against their natural teenage inclinations, with a little prodding and cajoling from their parents (thanks steph if you are reading). And Cari has promised me her speciality lasagne for tea, and later we go out to the south yorkshire sports awards at which Cari's orienteering team are nominated for team of the year. Did I ever mention that Cari was British Champion for orienteering at middle distance in 2009? She is very clever. And did I mention Joe represented Britain in the European fencing championships last year? He is very clever. I am very lucky.

A couple of days ago I found the newspaper clipping about my dad's death. it was in three pieces as my mum had torn it up for not being accurate. I taped it back together. The penultimate paragraph reads: " Mr Littler was an instrument articifer with ICI. He had been married 10 years and had two children, Graham (4) and Christopher (five months)" Today I reflect on the fact he never got to share my birthday with me. Life isn't fair sometimes. I miss him.




(back to 15)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.