A Roman Coin.

I have bombarded you with shots of flowers and trees as I familiarise myself with my new camera. A little respite today. When I was a little girl I was staying with my Nain and Taid in North Wales. One thing I loved to do was feed the hens and chickens.
One day while doing so with my aunt. she picked up what she thought was a threepenny bit. It wasn't so she threw it away. As she did so it hit the metal feeding dish and made a metalic sound. We took it inside and washed it and could see immediately that it was a coin. We went back out and scratched around in the dirt and found quite a few more.
Over the next year or so various friends who were interested used to go and have a look and many were successful. I suppose all in all about 100 coins were found.
Some were in better condition than others. This is one of the few with a female head on that I have. They were sent to Aberystwyth (I think) and were identified and dated by them. I have included the small identity slip with her name and dates on. The coin measures 2 cms across.These are some more shots without the label and showing the reverse side of the coin. Plus two different coins with identification.These

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.